2 August 2014: Fuselage 63

Hours today: 3.8 Hours fuse: 156.1 Hours total: 572.9
Rivets today: 191 Rivets fuse: 2067 Rivets total: 10 370

The plan for today was to assemble a seat. Unfortunately, I discovered that I’d missed a couple of parts when priming, so first I had to do those. I also finished priming the two triangular skins from the console:

The triangle panel

The triangle panel

A close look raised some interesting questions. The panel on the left hand side of the console, the one in the photo, is mounted on rivnuts along the bottom. But it appears to be riveted to the panel behind it (on the far right in the photo. That can’t be right. It turns out, it isn’t – it should also go onto rivnuts at its rear edge.

At the end of the day, I had a seat:

Seat, nearly finished

Seat, nearly finished

It isn’t quite finished – I need the plates that go within the top channel of the seat to reinforce the headrest mounts, so that bit is missing right now. I test fitted the headrest, just to see how it looks. Quite nice!

 

Leave a comment