8 December 2012: Left wing 14

Hours today: 1.4 Hours wings: 164.5 Hours total: 259.2
Rivets today: 0 Rivets wings: 3406 Rivets total: 5485

Roughened, dimpled and degreased the leading edge skin that contains the landing light. Not included in the time logged here, I made a tool to dimple the holes that hold the screws that hold on the landing light cover:

Small dimpling tool.

Small dimpling tool.

Compared to the dimpling tool that I made to use with the manual rivet tool, this doesn’t have a shaft. I couldn’t turn on in the space available, and I need a reasonable sized hole through the middle to line up the punch and die.

Tool with machine screw through it.

My plan was to simply place the die and punch either side of the sheet metal, then close them together by running a bolt (machine screw) through them into a nut. It worked pretty well with the test piece of aluminium sheet that I tried it on.

Leave a comment